Women’s Beach Retreat

I know I promised you guys a post about the Women’s Beach Retreat last weekend but it’s coming to you a little late.  (oops)  Honestly, the reason I didn’t write about it until now is because I was intimidated by all the awesome bloggers who have already written about it (that means you, Rebecca and Julie!)

So here I go, talking about what I remember from the WBR.  I don’t have my notes with me from the retreat so I’m guessing this is going to turn into my reflections since the retreat which is totally ok with me.

I want to crave things. I guess the biggest thing that I realized is that I don’t have things that I necessarily crave.  I guess this comes from the many years of schoolwork that have dulled me.  Honestly, the past three years I’ve felt like a slave of schoolwork.  I’m tired.  I always feel like schoolwork is trying to eat me and I’m just barely getting away from it before it tries to take another bite of me.  I know God creates work for us and that work is healthy but I can’t imagine him thinking this feeling is healthy.  He’s put in me a passion to become a nurse and I know the work that comes along with that passion but there’s got to be a way to make it less consuming.  Praying certainly seems to be a good place to start.  (And that’s what I’ve been doing.)

Although, I’m not completely without desires.  I really want to be a nurse. The last few years, God has given me a passion to serve others.  That’s not always been the case, but he’s allowed that desire to grow within me.  That’s made nursing that much more important to me and also makes the chance of not getting into the nursing school at UNC that much scarier.  It doesn’t help that UNC decided to cut the number of people they admit into the nursing school by 25% next year.  Eek!  I know this is something that I have to give to God though because he’s the one who put that desire in me in the first place.

In Christ, the deepest longings of our soul will be satisfied.

I love the friends God has given me. Seriously, my favorite part of the entire weekend happened between the hours of 11:00 pm and 2:00 am when my group of friends all sat on the same bed sharing all the things God was laying on our hearts.  Cravings, desires, concerns, mistakes, and revelations were shared by all.  In summary: God can do some miraculous things and he’s given us some great supporters to help us through them and point us closer to Him.  Can’t wait to continue to invest in these women!

Cornerstone really knows how to treat their ladies. After an emotional foot-washing by the seniors which left no dry eye in the building, they prayed then brought out six tubs of cookie dough, chips, and M&M’s.  (Oh, and carrot sticks)  I think I’ll be coming back next year haha.

So that’s a little of what happened at/what I have learned from the Cornerstone beach retreat.  It’s not nearly as personal or as detailed as I would like it to be, but I need to finish studying for my chem lab final (the class is DONE on Thursday!)  If you’d like to know more, friend me on facebook/send me a facebook message/text me/send me an email! (andrea.morrow91@gmail.com)

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Cornerstone (Campus Crusade), Experiences

Leave a Reply

