Family Devotions

Every couple of nights, my family gets together for family devotions.  We finished going through Esther a couple of weeks ago and now we’re going through James.  We read about a chapter at a time and talk about what that means to us and how that can be applied in our lives.

It’s a very cool way to keep connected to the family and also learn more about God.

Like I said, we’re going through James right now, but my dad found a connection to a passage in Romans that I found spoke particularly to my heart.

“Those who are dominated by the sinful nature think about sinful things, but those who are controlled by the Holy Spirit think about things that please the Spirit.  So letting your sinful nature control your mind leads to death. But letting the Spirit control your mind leads to life and peace.  For the sinful nature is always hostile to God. It never did obey God’s laws, and it never will.”
-Romans 8:5-7 (New Living Translation)-

It’s so refreshing to be reminded that giving my life and my all to God is what I as a believer am called to do.  And yes, God understands that that will mean difficult times for his followers but God is also so powerful and almighty that if I genuinely trust in him, I can’t help but have life and peace in the fact that he is so powerful that there is no need to worry anymore because he is all-knowing and more powerful than anything or anyone in this world.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible

Leave a Reply

