Music Monday: Please Be My Strength

This is quite possibly the most talented band I’ve ever heard before, both musically and lyrically.

The lyrics are hitting me especially hard today as I remember 1 John 1:7-9.

But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.
If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.
-1 John 1:7-9-

We all have sin and I constantly need to be reminded that “HE is faithful and just and HE will forgive our sins and purify us…”  It doesn’t matter that I don’t want to sin anymore and it doesn’t matter that I try my hardest not to sin… because it never matters what I did, and always matters what He did.

I can’t trust in myself to work hard and prevent sin from entering my life because by definition, I’m a sinner.  That’s what I do.  (It’s what we all do.)  But God is by definition perfect and holy and without sin and that’s why I have to trust in him and ask him to be my strength.

I’ve tried to stand my ground
I’ve tried to understand
but I can’t seem to find my faith again

like water on the sand
or grasping at the wind
I keep on falling short 

Please be my strength
please be my strenth
’cause I don’t have anymore
I don’t have anymore

I’m looking for a place
where I can plant my faith
one thing I know for sure

I cannot create it
I cannot sustain it
It’s Your love that’s keeping me

Please be my strength…
please be my strength…

’cause I don’t have anymore 
I don’t have anymore 

And at my final breath
I hope that I can say
I’ve fought the good fight of faith

I pray your glory shines
through this doubting heart of mine
And all that you would know

You are my strength
You and You alone
Keep bringing me back home

You and You alone
bringing me back home


1 Comment

Filed under Music Monday, Myself, Uncategorized

One response to “Music Monday: Please Be My Strength

  1. Pingback: Welcome to My Blog | think of me

Leave a Reply

