My Favorite Quote

Perusing Facebook, I came across a quote that made my day week life.  Yup, that pretty much sums it up.

The mom of a family I babysit for had posted it on her wall and it was such a God-send that she did.  As soon as I read it, I knew it was going to stick with me for awhile.  The quote is from Henri Nouwen, a priest in the 20th century.

“A waiting person is a patient person. The word “patience” means the willingness to stay where we are and live the situation out to the full in the belief that something hidden there will manifest itself to us. Impatient people are always expecting the real thing to happen somewhere else and therefore want to go elsewhere. The moment is empty. But patient people dare to stay where they are. Patient living means to live actively in the present and wait there. Waiting, then, is not passive. It involves nurturing the moment…”
– Henri Nouwen

This could not have come at a better time.  God’s been there all along, but I’ve been impatient, and stubborn to letting him in.  But this quote is challenging me to open up to him and live actively in Him.  I hope this quote helps all of you as much as it’s helped me!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “My Favorite Quote

  1. Dave M

    I couldn’t agree more! Great quote.

Leave a Reply

