Bienvenidos a El Salvador!

Sólo he estado en El Salvador cinco días…

Where in the world do I start?  I have now worked at the clinic for three days, gone to church and other church activities at the local church (Centro Cristiano Familiar), tried the national food (pupusas), started slowly getting used to the heat, gone to the local market and bought breakfast food for the week, struggled with my Spanish skills, and practiced my acting skills when I haven’t understood what they’re saying but just laugh and pretend like I do.

Other random things to mention:

  • There is a rooster that wakes me up every morning right around 7:00 am
  • I work at the clinic from 8am to 5pm every weekday (which makes the rooster wakeup call above quite convenient!)
  • Spanish is still a struggle (and will be the whole time I’m here) but I’m noticing now that I constantly try and translate things that I’m thinking to Spanish, just in case someone asks me a question.
  • Kaitlin, the missionaries’ daughter, and I made chocolate peanut butter cake in coffee mugs last night after dinner.  Two words: chocolate overload!
  • My blonde hair is making quite the impact with the nurses in the clinic.  They love it and talk about how much they would love hair my color.
  • The Hawks (missionary family) have a pet bunny which basically makes this whole trip worth it.  Yesterday I held the bunny like a baby and it actually FELL ASLEEP in my arms.  Best ever!

Now for some pictures from the past five days…

IMG_1870A picture of the clinic and garden outside.

IMG_1893

The Hawk’s pet bunny, Oscar.

IMG_1902

Kaitlin and the mug of delicious peanut butter chocolate cake we made in it.

IMG_1903

Oscar fell asleep in my arms! Love that bunny.

IMG_1857

Gratuitous nursing self picture.

IMG_1866

Panorama view of the nurses’ station and the waiting room in the distance.  (If you click on the picture you can see a larger version.)

100_6372

Papaya!  I bought this at the market on Monday as well as fresh green beans, strawberries, avocados,  and bananas.

I also wanted to send out a big thank you to everyone who sent money to WGM to the David V. King Medical Center!  You all are seriously awesome 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under El Salvador, Experiences, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Bienvenidos a El Salvador!

  1. sylvia garrett

    Andrea, love the blog !!! Love the pictures !! I know that this is going to be a wonderful experience for you. God bless you on this wonderful journey.
    Sylvia Garrett

Leave a Reply

